Skip to content
Broadband in WNC Digital Citizenship ICT - Information & Communication Technology

Digital Citizenship

What is digital citizenship and what are the focus areas?

Digital citizenship is the safe and responsible practice of using digital technologies.

All people who interact with digital technologies are digital citizens, however, responsible digital citizens are those who understand the potential risks and issues that can arise when using technology (LillyWhite, 2021).

Responsible digital citizens desire to use technology respectfully, safely, and productively.

9 Focus Areas of Digital Citizenship

Digital citizenship has been divided into nine key focus areas which include:

  1. Digital access
  2. Digital etiquette
  3. Digital law
  4. Digital communication
  5. Digital literacy
  6. Digital commerce
  7. Digital rights and responsibilities
  8. Digital safety and security
  9. Digital health and wellness

Who is your Western North Carolina steward of digital citizenship? Email

Palkki D. Is it time to double down on digital citizenship training? eSchool News. Published July 11, 2022. Accessed July 19, 2022.